Vol. 15, No. 40, March 31, 2003

Club Service II Snapshot

Jenny Andrews
Jenny Andrews
Rourke O'Brien
Rourke O’Brien
Norm Johnson
Norm Johnson
Steve Luplow
Steve Luplow

Club Service II is in charge of membership and all its activities. The leader of this important department has a spot on the BBRC Board of Directors. The current Director is Jenny Andrews, serving her first year of a two-year term.

There are three committees that function under the umbrella of Club Service II. The first is Membership Development and Recruitment, headed by Rourke O’Brien. The purpose of this committee is to define strategy for continuing to grow the Club and reminding members to invite friends and business acquaintances to breakfast. Filling out the blue card on the first visit is the start of the membership process. (Blue Cards available at the Cashier’s Desk) Dick Tschetter, Earl Falk, and Bob McKorkle serve on this committee. Applications are available at the Cashier’s Desk and on the website. The BBRC’s Five-Year Plan calls for a steady, but measured increase in membership. Bring a friend to the next meeting.

The Membership Coordination Committee is chaired by Norm Johnson, with assistance from Mark Esteb and Mark Hough. This committee interviews prospective members, giving an in-depth review of the obligations and benefits of membership to the applicant. A New Member Kit consists of an eight-page document used to interact with potential member. After all this work is done, the application “ages in Jenny’s desk” (hearty laughter!) and is then taken to the Board of Directors. Once approved, it is published twice in the Reveille for comments or questions from the membership. At this point, an average 8-12 weeks have gone by before the prospect is ready for induction.

The Membership Retention Committee is the watchdog of the membership after they become members. Steve Luplow chairs this committee, which has the task of contacting members who miss three meetings in a row or who have chronic attendance problems. Rotary International requires 60% attendance, either by going to regular club meetings or making up at bona-fide club activities. The Retention Team is Steve Goldfarb, Don Chandler, Kevin Jewell, Craig Groshart, Shelley Noble, Brian Heimbigner, Steve Waltar, and Jenny Andrews.


This site has been visited times since December 4, 2000.

Reveille | Reveille Archives | Meeting Location & Directions | Future Programs | Calendar of Events | How to Join the BBRC | Guestbook | Officers & Directors | Committees | Online Member Directory | Short Directory PDF File | Directory Information Form | Establish User Information | Change User Information | Forgot User Information | Meeting Make-Up Form | Attendance Statistics | Committee Roster | New Member Application (PDF File) | Expense-Funding Request Form (PDF File) | BBRC Endowment-Foundation | BBRC Supported Organizations | District 5030 Website & Newsletter | District 5030 Club Websites & Where-When They Meet | Email Us

Content of this website is material Copyrighted © 2003-2004
by Rotary International, its districts and its clubs.

This site is best viewed in Internet Explorer and Netscape Versions 4.0 and later. You can download the latest version of Explorer here for free. If you are using Netscape and need a later version, click here. Netscape users may also need to increase font size in VIEW.